In the Battle field

Dreams are one of the most interesting aspects of life. I know there are many scientific reasons on how dreams occur but I feel there is so much mystery around these dreams. I get a lot of dreams in my sleep. Some of them are down to earth, some  funny, some strange, some wierd.Some of the dreams I remember the next day and some I do not.
The recent dream I had was a strange one, I remembered very well the next morning. Here is how it goes.
I was amidst of chaos. The situation around me was tense. When I closely analyze the situation I find I am in a battle field. Who am I, how did I get here I am unaware. I am inside a very old building, I hear the sounds of guns firing in a distance. The army camp inside the building I am in are not very happy, very soon I find that they are on the losing side. The captain or the leader of the side is inside the building. There is one brave man who stands up and says that now they all would have to enter the battle field and fight till they die. He says that their leader would be left unprotected. He turns to me and says “Can you take care of the leader?”. “Me!!!” I don’t know what a battle is and the usage of any weapons. But before I could speak a word the battallion leaves into the battle field. Sounds of guns firing approaches the building. I know clearly that the side I am in is definitely going to lose the battle. I turn to the leader and say that he should escape from the building and run away. I see hesitation in his eyes and reluctance to leave the place. I force him to leave and convince him it would be good for his people and country. I lead him to the back door of the building and ask him to run fast. He does that. I see him disappear in the distance and I am satisfied that I had played my part. But immediately the fear strikes me. I start thinking about me… what will happen to me. Why did I not run…? I couldn’t figure out. The opposite end armies shout in cheer. They had got their people. All of a sudden the fear of dying hits me. Is this the last few moments I am going to live? How can I get out of it? I hear footsteps approaching the building. I run and lock all the doors of the building from inside and through the hole in the wall I see blur images of enemies running towards the building. I am not sure what needs to be done. I lie down on the floor and close my eyes and try to sleep. Why am I not running? Have I yielded in to the fate? I suppose so. I am ready to face the inevitable. I have bet on that little fortune I might have, for the enemies might take me for dead. I hear the banging on the doors, I feel someone should have broken through the back door and come in. I have still not opened my eyes. My heart beat increases…I hear footsteps near me. Someone is looking over me. Should I open my eyes… no I decide against it. The contradicting thought process of yielding versus fighting enters into a dual. The fear of facing my death in my own eyes versus not to look at it makes me to remain in the current state. The person looking upon me bends down and holds the tip of the gun on to my head. Oh my god! my little hope on the fortune has been turned down. Its just a matter of second and everything will be over. I could feel the trigger being pressed. I could feel the suction of the gun on my head, pulling a portion of my head into it. All of a sudden my fear is overcome by last minute, rather last second courage. I feel a sudden sense of fearlessness in me. I knew if not now then never. My hands act faster than my mind could think and gets hold of the enemy’s fist and rolls it over. I whirl around and I get up as if a spell had been cast, I don’t know how. I find myself holding the gun in my hand and I let it trigger the next second pointing to the person.
“Dreams are strange” there is a gush of water flowing out of the gun and I see that the person standing before me is my friend and the gun is fake. My friend is laughing at me drenched in water. I couldn’t believe all this was a joke… The next immediate question I ask him was what happened to the war. He says the war is over and the armies have returned back to their base… I watch out of the window I see sun shining bright and people walking around engaged in their daily chores. All of them might have been happy as the war got over…!!!
I wake up from my sleep. My dream is over. The fear of a gun pointed at me slowly got rid of me. I was relieved that it was all just a dream!!!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment